Astro Pi Is Go For Launch!

Today, I was at the launch of the exciting new Astro Pi competition.

Two Raspberry Pi computers are planned to be flown to the International Space Station as part of UK Astronaut Tim Peake’s six month mission. Both will be connected to the new “Astro Pi” board, loaded with a host of sensors and gadgets.

Schools are asked to submit projects to use the sensors, and write the code. The winners code will fly on the Space Station.

All the information you need can be found on the UKSA website, or the Raspberry Pi Foundation.

I’m joining the small team planning the project, and getting the Pi boards certified for flight. I’m also on the judging panel.

I had a great chat with Eben Upton, founder and CEO of  Raspberry Pi, and posed for a super geeky photo moment.

IMG_3025small

I am very excited to be involved with this project, and look forward to working with the Astro Pi team!

One thought on “Astro Pi Is Go For Launch!

  1. […] Astro Pi – what can I say? I got involved in this purely by accident, and what a ride it has been since. I have made new friends and met kindred spirits in places I could only dream of. Really counting my lucky stars on this one. Doing the shock, vibration and EMC tests in Portsmouth on the flight Astro Pi units was very special, even if it meant long hours grovelling to the Site Director for some funding! I had a real geek-out moment visiting Pi Towers for the judging too. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

